Film awards

The Cinema Award of the Azerbaijan Union of Cinematographers was established on July 9, 2012. The award is annual and is awarded to representatives of the creative intelligentsia of Azerbaijan for their outstanding contribution to the development of national cinema. The purpose of the award is to highlight the positive trends of national cinema.

Selection of nominees by the Secretariat of the Union. The Secretariat monitors, carefully analyzes the processes of the past film season and notes the merits of cinematographers of various specialties. Prize winners are determined by open voting. Traditionally, the list of award winners is announced on the eve of the Day of National Cinema – the professional holiday of all cinema workers, which is celebrated in the Republic on 2 August.