Azerbaijan Union of Filmmakers has announced the list of this year’s filmmakers will be awarded on August 2 traditionally – National Cinema Day, a professional holiday of film workers.

According to the decision of the secretariat, the following filmmakers are the winners of the Union traditional award:

  • Ilkin Yusif – For his successful directorial work of the documentary “I’m looking for a hero”;
  • Rashid Aghamaliyev – For his services on the development of international relations of Azerbaijani animation;
  • Intigam Hajili – for his services in the development of independent cinema and revitalization of the cinema environment in the regions.

They will all be awarded with a diploma and cash prize.

It is addressed annually to creative persons who have contributed by their works to the development of national filmmaking. The purpose of this establishment is to highlight positive trends in national cinema. While selecting the nominees, the secretariat carefully observes and analyzes the process during the last film season, notes services of film workers in various fields of filmmaking and selects laureates through open voting.

It should be noted people’s writer Anar, an art director Firangiz Gurbanova, a diplomat and public figure Ramiz Abutalibov, a film and television director Nazim Rza Israfiloghlu, the late actor Fuad Poladov, a sound director Asad Asadov, an actor Farhad Israfilov, a film director Murad Ibrahimbekov, a film director Jahangir Zeynalli, a cameraman Yuri Varnovskiy, a composer Rauf Aliyev, a director Mirbala Salimli, a film theorist Sevda Sultanova, an actress Zulfiyya Gurbanova and other professionals were among this prestigious awardee till today.