On the occasion of August 2 – National Cinema Day, the professional holiday of Azerbaijani filmmakers,the Azerbaijan Union of Film-makers announced this year’s list of filmmakers traditionally awarded.According to the decision of the Secretariat of the Azerbaijan Union of Film-makers actor FarhadIsrafilov was awarded for “the commitment to the ideals of art”, film director Teymur Hajiyev for “the international success of films made in modern cinema” and film critic Sevda Sultanova for “a series of articles on the problems of Azerbaijani cinema”.

The creative intellectuals of Azerbaijan distinguished for their contribution to the development of national cinematography are annually awarded by the Azerbaijan Union of Film-makers. The purpose of establishing the award is to draw attention to the positive tendencies in national cinema. In selecting the nominees, the Secretariat of the Union carefully observes and analyzes the process of the last film season, notes the services in various fields of cinematography and selectslaureates by open voting.

The writer Anar, the deceased actor Fuad Poladov, sound director Asad Asadov, art director Firangiz Gurbanova, film director Murad Ibrahimbayov, actress ShukufaYusupova, film director Jahangir Zeynalli, actress Zulfiya Gurbanova, composer Rauf Aliyev, diplomat and public figure Ramiz Abutalibov, director Mirbala Selimli, cameraman Yuri Varnovsky, cinema and television director Nazim Rza Israfiloglu and other professionals were awarded with this prestigious prize so far.

It should be noted that the award ceremony, established by the Union in 2012, will take place in the days after quarantine.