The secretariat of Azerbaijan Union of Filmmakers announced the winners of its traditional award on the occasion of “National Cinema Day” on August 2. According to the decision of AUF secretariat, the following filmmakers is deemed worthy to the Union’s traditional award for 2023/.

Azer Aydamir – for the successful dramaturgical solution of the “Season of the Scorpion” TV series.

Nijat Dadashov – for the successful producer work on an “I’m here, God!” fiction film project.

Hasan Akhundov – for the successful producer work on an “I’m here, God!” fiction film project.

Ilgar Jahangir – for his role “Barat” in “Sughra and her sons” fiction film.

Nadir Badalov – for his contribution to film theory with his book “A cinema between eyes and words”.

Imamaddin Hasanov – for his services in the development of Azerbaijani documentary cinema`s international relations.

It should be noted that Azerbaijan Union of Filmmakers award is addressed to creative persons who distinguished by their services in the development of national cinema every year. The purpose on establishment of this award is to highlight positive trends in national cinema.

While selecting the candidates, the secretariat carefully observes and analyzes the process during the last film season, notes services in various fields of filmmaking and selects laureates through open voting. Until now, people’s writer Anar, art director Firangiz Gurbanova, diplomat and public figure Ramiz Abutalibov, film and television director Nazim Rza Israfiloghlu, late actor Fuad Poladov, sound director Asad Asadov, actor Farhad Israfilov, film director Murad Ibrahimbekov, film director Jahangir Zeynalli, cinematographer Yuri Varnovski, composer Rauf Aliyev, director Mirbala Salimli, film critic Sevda Sultanova, actress Zulfiyya Gurbanova and other professionals were deemed worthy to this prestigious award.